Patient database

 

Top  Previous  Next

 

bm70

The patient data tab initially displays a search box and two buttons.

 

The function of the two buttons are:

Search toggle: click to toggle between patient MRN or name search.
MRU (most recently used) list: click to view a list of most recently accessed records.

 

To retrieve a patient (or view a list of patients):

Type in a patient MRN or name and press Enter
Or you may search using an asterisk for wild card matches, i.e., "Smith*" or "123*"
Or leave search box blank and press Enter to list all patients alphabetically

 

If an exact match is found, that patient record will be displayed.

 

If an exact match is not found, or wild card search was performed, a list of matches will be displayed:

bm72

To retrieve a patient from the list, double click on the caret in the far left column.

 

Clicking the MRU button displays a list of the most recently accessed records:

bm73

To retrieve a patient from the MRU list, click on the name.

 

The Add icon becomes visible only after a search is performed. This is to minimize duplicate record entry:

bm21

Add a new record

Click the add icon to create a new blank record record.

 

After patient retrieval, or upon creation of a new record, patient demographic data is displayed. See the Patient data topic for a description of the fields.

 

There are four icons related to patient data editing:

bm71

Close record

Keyboard shortcut: Alt + Q

Close current record and return to patient search.

 

 

bm24

Edit record

Keyboard shortcut: Alt + E

To change record data, click the edit icon.

Please note: until the changes are saved or canceled all other program functions are disabled.

 

 

bm23

Save record

Keyboard shortcut: Alt + S

Click this icon to save the current record record.  This icon is only enabled during edit or add mode.

 

 

bm22

Cancel changes

Keyboard shortcut: Alt + C

Click this icon to cancel changes to record data or to cancel entry of a new record.

 

Delete patient

To delete a patient record, click on the File drop down menu then click Delete patient. Please note: this will permanently delete the currently displayed record.

 

Patient records consume very little storage space, therefore, unless you are certain that you will never access a patient's file again, it is not necessary to perform the delete function.

 


See also:

Patient Discharge

 

 

. ©Copyright 1984 - 2012, by RxKinetics. All rights reserved.